top of page

REVIEW: Maki-san

Sushi has always been a delicacy in Japan and it has since gained immense popularity in the Eastern region of Asia as well. Singapore joined the band-wagon in the 1980s with a third of its 100 Japanese restaurants focusing mainly on Sushi. Today, when someone has a craving of the raw fish delicacy, they usually tend to gravitate towards the more popular Sakae Sushi. However, more chains are opening up around Singapore that offer more options in creating that perfect sushi and more importantly, they have that elusive halal certificate.

One of those chains is called Maki-san. My friends and I chanced upon it at Cathay Cineleisure as we searched around for something to satisfy our hunger pangs after a 4-hour seminar. We saw the halal sign hanging over the counter and decided to enter.

As I’m allergic to seafood, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that its menu featured an extensive array of ingredients for me to choose from. I was skeptical at first and thought I would have to eat fries and a salad but the menu offered non-seafood options. I ended up ordering the traditional seaweed wrap with white rice, complete with olives, onion and sweet corn as the stuffing. I selected chicken floss as my choice of meat for the sprinkle and finished it off with the sweet Thai Chili sauce.

As I bit down on it, I noticed the overpowering taste of the sauce and for a moment I thought I had made a wrong choice by ordering the sushi. However, as I began chewing it, I realized the olives and chicken floss made a heady combination. It was sweet and slightly tangy, which was a treat to my taste buds. I ended up finishing the whole dish with satisfaction.

I would definitely recommend the place as the food was better than average and it had a cosy ambience as well. Be sure to try the sushi with the Japanese Mayo sauce though as it was the hot favourite with the rest of my friends!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page